When you need a skilled DWI lawyer Fairfax VA residents depend on, call Dave Albo – Attorney, LLP. Out firm has been representing clients who have been charged with driving while intoxicated for more than two decades. We understand how intimidating the whole experience of being arrested, booked, and put in a jail can be, as well as how frightening the prospect of losing your driving privileges and the impact that can have on your future. FAQs About DUI Charges
What Is the Penalty for First-Time Offense DWI Conviction in Virginia?
Each DWI lawyer in Fairfax VA from our firm knows that even a first-time offense DWI conviction can result in personal and financial hardships. Penalties for drunk driving are covered under the Code of Virginia § 18.2-271. Virginia law states that if your blood alcohol level (BAC) is more than 0.08 percent, you are considered over the legal limit.
If you this is your first DWI offense and you are convicted, a DWI lawyer Fairfax VA locals trust knows your license to drive will be suspended for one year. You will pay between $250 to $300 for a fine, as well as any court-ordered restitution. Depending on the circumstances of your case, the court may also order you to participate in an alcohol safety action program, order the use of an ignition interlock device, and grant a possible restricted driver’s license.
If your BAC was more than 0.15 percent, the court can order you to serve five days in jail. If your BAC was more than 0.20 percent, you could spend 10 days in jail.
Virginia law also hands out harsher sentences if there were children in the vehicle at the time of the person’s arrest. If there was a minor under the age of 17 years old in the vehicle when you were arrested, the judge can order you to spend an additional five days in jail and also pay an additional fine of between $500 and $1000.
In addition to the criminal court system, a DWI lawyer Fairfax VA provides will also represent you for any administrative action that the DMV pursues against drivers charged with drinking and driving.
If you failed your breathalyzer test, the state will suspend your license for seven days, regardless of what the outcome of the criminal case against you is. If you refused to take the breathalyzer test, the state will suspend your license for one year, again, regardless of the outcome of the criminal case against you. It is also important to note that the amount of time the state suspends your driving privileges is in addition to the amount of time the criminal court suspends it.
Contact a DWI Lawyer Fairfax VA Clients Count On
If you have been charged with drunk driving, you need an aggressive Fairfax DWI lawyer to advocate for you and protect your rights against prosecutors and law enforcement who often use manipulating tactics in an attempt to gain convictions or convince defendants to plead guilty to questionable cases. The legal team at Dave Albo – Attorney will use all available resources to get you the best possible outcome based on the circumstances of the case against you.
Call a seasoned DWI lawyer Fairfax VA today to set up an appointment for a free case evaluation and to find out how we can help.